My First Day in Berlin. (it’s a long one)

Well, although I payed 6 euro for internet connection and almost 30 euro for food and drink, I survived my first day and night alone in Berlin.

This was my meal the first night. It was a salad with “Berlin-style” potato soup. It was delicious.

Image

Image

Today, I was scheduled to meet with Professor Freeman, Lauren and Shannon at the airport at 11:50 to catch the bus to the hotel. I showed up at the airport and ran into Jake, another student on the trip. We explored the airport while awaiting the others.

Unfortunately after waiting until 12:30, we found out their flight was still delayed due to some complications. We decided to attempt the bus and streetcar journey to the hotel on our own.

We first had to buy a ticket. We bought the AB (ah-bay) ticket, meaning it would take us only one way, for 2,40 euro. We hopped on the bus and took a winding tour through central Berlin.

An older German woman noticed the confused looks on Jake and I’s faces as we tried to figure out our stop. She started giving me directions in English and we started a conversation. She was so helpful and interesting. She pointed out buildings like Berlin’s first hospital, where several famous doctors have worked, and the Russian embassy, while explaining that her relatives had lived in East Berlin when the wall was up. She was a remarkable lady, who thankfully got us to our destination.

After getting off at Alexanderplatz train station, we hopped onto the M4 tram which took us further into East Berlin, towards our hotel. (Remember this entire journey included a 48 lb. suitcase, a duffle and a backpack.) I was completely wiped.

Before we could even get to the elevator, we were greeted by some other group members who invited us to go exploring. Of course, we agreed.

We walked down the street to get a drink. I had a German fruit kombucha tea that was awesome.

Image

We explored a beautiful cemetery. There were graves from the 1800’s  and most plots were for entire families. It was like a sanctuary rather than a traditional American cemetery.

Finally, we headed back to meet for dinner. We first went to the Berlin Wall Memorial, where we could view an original part of the wall as well as “No Man’s Land” and the surrounding areas.

Image

Image

Image

IMG_0527

Afterwards we walked to the Prater Biergarten, where we ate dinner.

   IMG_0581

IMG_6281

After dinner, we took the scenic route home and got some ice cream. Not sure what I ordered, but it was fab.


Then, of course, we ended the night with a spur of the moment group adventure and a nice glass of house wine.

My official first day with the group has been an incredible experience. The fact that I am in Europe is still just beginning to sink in. And the fact that I will be here for an entire 14 days is completely beyond my comprehension. So now, I would like to take a line or so to thank some people… My Poppop, for providing the tickets for this trip, my Minnie, for being the most supportive, selfless grandmother in the world, who helped fund this trip, and of course my incredible parents who I could not be more thankful for, who are constantly supporting me financially, spiritually, emotionally and physically. I love you all, thank you so much for being a part of this experience.

Of course, I can’t leave you all out either now can I? A big thank you TO YOU. Thank you for reading my blog and being excited for me and my travels on this trip.

I can’t wait to share more with you. I am not sure if I have ever been this excited to wake up in the morning. Can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings. Gute Nacht everyone!

xoxo Megan

One thought on “My First Day in Berlin. (it’s a long one)

  1. I can’t wait to hear about your 2nd day!! I thoroughly enjoy reading your blog. Have an amazing trip and don’t forget, I will come find you!! 🙂 Love you lots!

Leave a comment