Miss List

Although I am indescribably excited about going home, (mostly about seeing my sweet momma) I also inexplicably saddened to leave this beautiful place.

IMG_6755

Berlin is a place like no other. Spend a few weeks there and you will understand why. I believe it is not something that can be told, only experienced and felt. Berlin is different because it makes things possible.

There are so many things that I will miss about the city of Berlin. Some are big, some are small.

Maybe it is something I picked up from the people there, enjoying the small things. People in Berlin don’t seem to forget to indulge in simple pleasures like parks and ice cream cones and moments.

It would be hard for me to imagine a businessman grab gelato on the way home from the office, but it happens here.

It would be difficult for me to meet someone who has dedicated his entire life to making belts out of bicycle tires, but met him here.

Berlin is full of rarities, full of surprises.

1. Flower/market shops:

They are everywhere! Walking down the street in the middle of the city there are probably at least two shops within sight at all times. They are beautiful and colorful and hopeful. I will definitely miss that.

2. Cafes:

Most cafe are not chains in Berlin. They are locally owned and operated businesses that use the freshest of the fresh ingredients. I have had some of the cutest, most tasty teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries.

3. Our Street:

It was beautiful at all hours of the day. We were in the perfect location in East Berlin. There were new buildings pushed right up next to ones from WWII. The juxtaposition of that was so interesting to me.

IMG_1501

We were also only about 4 stops from Alexanderplatz, a main train station in the city, which became sort of a home base for us.

There were a few restaurants on our street that we just couldn’t seem stay away from. Al dente was a great Italian place. We became pretty good friends with a Macedonian waiter there named Afrim. He would give us free wine and brochetta whenever we came in for dinner.

Espresso was our other favorite spot. They serve a simple menu of sandwiches and coffee. My favorite was the tomato, mozzarella and basil sandwich with a chai latte. The man working there was always so kind to us. The best of the best.

Last but certainly not least, Princess. Princess was our savior. When all else failed or you needed a quick bite to eat, the man at Princess would always have your back. They sold döner kebap, a Turkish dish, and pizza 24-7. He was so kind and funny, always doing his absolute best to speak English with us. He asked us to visit him in our future travels to Berlin.

4. Naps:

Okay, I know this is strange. Why would I go to Europe and sleep the day away? Well, our days were packed full. Many nights we would be out late exploring and wake up early to continue our adventures. Before dinner, some of us would take about an hour nap in the afternoon to rejuvenate.

Honestly, I can appreciate a good nap in America, on planes, in Europe – really anywhere. These naps were special though, because our rooms were just so wonderful. We had huge windows overlooking the city that we left open as a form of natural AC.

It was just a simple, indescribable type of beautiful to wake up to birds chirping and church bells ringing every morning and afternoon.

IMG_6757

5. Humana:

This was a thrift store, similar to Goodwill. We went to a total of 3 different Humana stores, including a 5 story one across the city, the largest in Germany. I bought some great stuff. A total of 5 shirts and a bag.

6. Parks:

Although Berlin is very much a city, it is also very much a place of natural beauty. There are parks everywhere. Always a nice place to jog or take photos or read a book. It’s a lovely part of Berlin.

7. Public transportation:

I love riding the bus anyways, but in Berlin, you constantly have 4 different methods of transportation available to you. There is the regular bus, the tram, the U-Bahn (underground) and the S-Bahn (sky). It was so fun to figure out different routes to where you were going.

8. My new friends:

As Amber would say, these ladies were “bangin’ like a biscuit.” I can not be more thankful for the sweet blessings I was given on this trip. They were so perfect and fun to be around. The trip could not have been even half of what it was without them. I can’t wait for Summer B and Fall semesters. I have some great new friends. “Yes ma’am!”

Mostly I will miss the feeling of ‘fitting’ in Berlin. Everyone fits in Berlin. That is absolutely astounding to me. There is a place for everyone there. Like our tour guide told me, it is a place you can start fresh and be who you want to be, because everyone can be a Berliner.

I don’t really think you have to live there to be one either. I think it is something in your heart or in your soul. It is a drive to be who you are that makes you a Berliner.

Now I know some of these things – like gelato and flower shops and coffee – are not exclusive to Berlin, but they are still an important part of it.

Like I said before, Berlin makes things possible. It allows people to try out their passions with fewer feelings of judgement, less fear of failure.

It is a city of opportunity, both for those who live there and those who are just passing through.

So thankful for the opportunity of Berlin. What a life-changing, eye-opening experience it was.

Farewell Berlin, you will be missed. See you soon.

Xoxo Megan

Leave a comment